A Dreaming and A Prayer

Leave a comment

April 25, 2017 by Ray Yanek

Dreaming, by Jozef Israels

Dreaming by Jozef Israëls [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons

I’ve been slacking with the posts again– in fact, I’ve been slacking with a lot of writing related things, mostly because I’ve been grading senior research papers and trying to coach some more softball and trying to get my yard in some semblance of order.

I did complete the Festivus competition last weekend, and I’ll talk more about that later.

Excuses, I know, and I hate that I let all these things get in the way of putting words down.

But I love that it doesn’t take long until I start to feel that intense pull back to the paper, that powerful unease and irritability that comes with not writing.

The hard part about taking breaks like this, though, is re-starting and getting back into the groove.

Last night, I came across this poem, this prayer, and I’ve read it a few times since then.

I read it again before I came here, and I’ll read it one more time after I post– in the moments before I finally sit back down with a short story I haven’t touched in a week.

A Prayer

By: Joseph Seamon Cotter Jr.

As I lie in bed,
Flat on my back;
There passes across my ceiling
An endless panorama of things—
Quick steps of gay-voiced children,
Adolescence in its wondering silences,
Maid and man on moonlit summer’s eve,
Women in the holy glow of Motherhood,
Old men gazing silently thru the twilight
Into the beyond.
O God, give me words to make my dream-children live.

From: The Academy of American Poets

 

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,393 other followers

