Festivus Kool-Aid or, Hangin’ with Murph…and crying.

Leave a comment

March 31, 2017 by Ray Yanek

 

This is a check-in in response to some of the fitness goals I posted here.

Goal 1:  The Festivus Games

Logo

As of tomorrow, the date for the Festivus workout will be exactly 3 weeks away.  The dates for my anniversary get-away with my wife may be changing which will allow me to participate in the official workout, rather than having to do it on my own.  Workouts always go better when there are other people around.

I’m sweating the workout a little more than I originally was, mainly because of this part:  

Burpees

Goblet Squats (53lb/35lb – 44lb/26lb)

Kettlebell (KB) Swings (American) (53lb/35lb – 44lb/26lb)

Box Overs (24in male/20in female)

You start at the top, do each exercise for a minute, then rest for a minute and do the cycle one more time.

I went through a WOD this week that included a lot of box jumps.  This particular WOD went for three minutes.  I was required to complete 15 burpees-to-box jumps and then use whatever time that was left  to do 20lb wallballs.  I got to rest 3 minutes then, while my partner worked, and we did 3 rounds.

I’m lucky I made it out of the 1st round with my shins in tact.  I started way too fast on the burpee-box jumps and started to fatigue around rep 12.  It was a strange sort of fatigue–it was like I could initiate the movement, but then my legs wouldn’t totally follow through.  

I paced myself a little better during the last 2 rounds and, even after all the wallballs, I didn’t reach that point again.  So I feel like there were some valuable lessons here…

First of all, my quads obviously fatigued from the jumps themselves.  I can’t imagine the workoutdifficulty in doing a minute’s worth of box jumps after burning out those muscles during  the goblet squats.

I felt the muscle failure in my hips too–which is not good given that every exercise in the cycle is hip-centric.

So I need to put together a strategy for this portion.  I’m going to have to run through the routine and figure out where I can open it up and where I need to idle it down.  My only real goal at this point is to try to work as continuously as possible through this section– and I most definitely don’t want to take a viral-video worthy tumble…  I’ll still probably invest in a pair of industrial-grade shin guards though.

 

Goal 2:  Murph

I realized I haven’t talked a lot about Murph yet, the Hero WOD I’ll be doing on Memorial Day.  For those that don’t know the workout is it’s:

For time:murph

1 mile run

100 pull-ups

200 sit-ups

300 air squats

1 mile run

Yeah…

Two weekends ago I tried a half-Murph (50 pull-ups, 100 push ups, 150 squats), except I did the full mile runs.  

I broke the pull-ups down into 10 rounds of 5, with about 30 seconds rest between.  I’ve always struggled with pull-ups, but this wasn’t as bad as I thought– until I realized that this was, in fact, only half.

The push-ups were tougher than I thought.  The plan was 10 sets of 10 with 30 seconds or less of rest between.  I did fine until the last 2 sets which I had to break up a bit.  I most definitely wasn’t ready for another 100 though…

I went 10 sets of 15 on the squats and I cut the rest time down.  My legs were burning, no doubt, but the sheer volume of this set is daunting in and of itself.  Three hundred is a pretty big number.   My legs felt a bit sluggish at the start of the final run, but it got easier as I went and the last mile was actually faster than the first.

I’m going to need to keep working on this.

Have a great weekend, and let me know how your goals are going!

 

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,393 other followers

