A Monday Poem

Leave a comment

October 3, 2016 by Ray Yanek

angel-1502351_1280

I have to admit that I struggled a bit with Joseph Legaspi’s poem “Someone”.  The lack of punctuation threw me off kilter and I had to go back a few times and read it much more slowly and carefully–like I had to do it again because I wasn’t quite awake the first couple of times…

And then I think I understood.

After that, the poem stuck with me throughout this gloomy Monday, and I couldn’t help but smile when I thought that soon, very soon, I will be at my own home, with “someone warm” beside me.

Someone

By: Joseph Legaspi

Somewhere someone rises
far earlier than you before
the faintest glimmer blues
the darkest dark wakens
without alarm without body
roused by the nightingales
neighbor friend or stranger
who hasn’t seen his sunlit
children faces a cold sink
oh caffeinated sleepwalker
march daily industry with
necessity down one flight
then up two is heaven in
someone warm beside you

You can find the poem and more information about Mr. Legaspi HERE.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,393 other followers

