Courage, my friend…

Leave a comment

November 16, 2015 by Ray Yanek

 

Last week I wrote a post about the courage creativity requires.  Then I posted an old piece for Veteran’s Day that in some ways outlined the courage of the veterans.  I spent a lot of time this weekend thinking about courage also.  The events in Paris, Beirut, and Kenya also added to that thinking.

The people below also thought about courage.  I liked their thoughts better than mine, so I thought I would share:

“Everyone has talent. What’s rare is the courage to follow it to the dark places where it leads.”

Erica Jong

“All happiness depends on courage and work.”

Honoré de Balzac

“A man with outward courage dares to die; a man with inner courage dares to live.”

Lao Tzu, Tao Te Ching

“When I dare to be powerful, to use my strength in the service of my vision, then it becomes less and less important whether I am afraid.”

Audre Lorde

“Self-control is the chief element in self-respect, and self-respect is the chief element in courage.”

Thucydides

“The opposite for courage is not cowardice, it is conformity.  Even a dead fish can go with the flow.”

–Jim Hightower

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,392 other followers

