Binge- Reader? or Perfect-Moment Type?

10

May 4, 2015 by Ray Yanek

I admit that I have numerous ‘peculiarities’ that should, probably, warrant heavy medication, but normally those peculiarities do not extend into my reading habits.

This time though…

See, I started a reading a book about two weeks ago. And I loved it.   I tweeted out the next morning that it had been an extremely long time since a book had captivated and enchanted me so completely.  Since then, I’ve thought about the book, journaled about the characters, thought more about the book, bitched and moaned that I didn’t come up with the story, and so forth. The one thing I haven’t done?

Read any more of the book.

Not a page.

When most people stumble across a book they love in the way that I love this book

they suck that book down like a cold beer on a hot day.  They stay up until 3 am to finish it, they take the book on the treadmill, read it during their lunch breaks, or read it on their phones when they’re supposed to be working.

But I can’t bring myself to do that with this book, because I know if I do, I’ll get distracted and I’ll miss something.  And I don’t want to miss a single word of this book.

Not one.

I’ve found myself waiting for that special moment when I can hide myself away and hit that book with a laser-focus, where I can sit down and savor every image, every phrase, every word.

That’s a problem, because there aren’t a whole lot of those perfect moments.

And no, I’m not going to tell you the name of the book, because that book is mine, damn it.  All mine.  And you can’t have it.

Not yet anyway…  🙂

So what about you?  Are you a binge reader or, like I’m doing currently, do you wait for that perfect moment to lose yourself in that story?

 

10 thoughts on “Binge- Reader? or Perfect-Moment Type?

  1. Noirfifre says:

    I understand a bit where you are coming from, I realize that I can be so much in a book but if I take a break for a couple of hours sometimes when I come to that page something is amiss. That is one of the attractive things about Novellas [for me], I can read mostly everything in one good. Sigh.

    • Ray Yanek says:

      Really good point. When I take those breaks–even if it’s just until the next night–I feel like I’m always forgetting part of the story. I’ve been going back to review quite frequently in a lot of books–it’s a really strong book that completely digs itself deep into your mind and literally makes itself unforgettable. Thanks for stopping, also!

      • Noirfifre says:

        I certainly share your sentiments that it takes a “strong book” to make a great impression. It was certainly a pleasure stopping by :).

  2. I like to be relaxed and quiet for the same reason. I have to be engrossed: no distractions.

  3. It has been SO long since a book captivated me that way. I envy you. Can’t wait for you to share the title.

  4. But you know what finishing it will mean to you. I try to read something every day. For that, I have Miss Downs to thank: http://derrickjknight.com/2012/05/25/miss-downs/

  5. zeuslyone says:

    I believe that I’m more in the binge reader group. I’m constantly reading something, and I set myself reading projects. I’m sure you’re aware of that to some extent since you’ve been reading through my blog posts. This is one of my own “peculiarities”, I suppose. The extension (or perhaps cause?) is that I want to learn as much as I possibly can in this lifetime. Oh, I didn’t really clarify that: most of my reading projects are books on philosophy, Buddhism, or Taoism at this point… I did say it was a “peculiarity”, right? 🙂

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,393 other followers

