The Consistency Project — Keeping Crazy in the Bag

3

February 18, 2015 by Ray Yanek

Where I live, its bitterly cold again.  The current noontime temp is 4 degrees.  With the wind chill it feels like 15 below and it’s supposed to get colder.  Tonight the temp is forecasted to drop down to somewhere between -4 and -10 and wind chills will fall to -20 to -30.

There’s been a lot of talk today about faculty cuts at the school where I work. People, good friends and consummate professionals, are going to lose their jobs in the coming months. My schedule is jammed full tonight: there are games and practices and meetings and dishes and cooking and workouts.  I’m way behind in what needs to get done currently and the general feel of the day is quite simply one of complete mayhem.

Normally, this would be the kind of day where I would fall off the rails, where I would let those positive habits like writing everyday, working out, eating properly, etc. my slide and just do what I could to tread water.  Then I would go home, hide under a blanket and throw empty, mental wine bottles at those responsible for educational funding in the state of Illinois.

I can’t do that though, because I made this stupid ass Consistency Project thing.  Now, if I throw in the towel I’ll feel guilty, cry in my beer, beat my breast in lamentation, and otherwise look like a complete blubbering freak. And if I want to make these changes into sustainable habits I need to learn to navigate the shit-storms.

I was reminded of that earlier in the week through the things I’m posting below and I’ve been keeping those things in my back pocket for a day just like today.

Maybe these will offer you a little boost if the day is windy and cold where you are. These reminders are writing related, but they could easily be applied to any of your passions.

HankRollins

“If I lose the light of the sun, I will write by candlelight, moonlight, no light. If I lose paper and ink, I will write in blood on forgotten walls. I will write always. I will capture nights all over the world and bring them to you”

―Henry Rollins (photo and quote via PEN American Center’s Facebook Page)

And this, I think, sums up the basic point behind The Consistency Project.

B-FfySYCcAA39UJ

(Special thanks to Daven Anderson @DavenAnderson for posting this to his Twitter feed)

So how about you?  What kind of things do you do or do you keep in your back pocket to help keep you from falling off the rails?

Leave a comment and let me know or I’ll starting checking to empty, mental wine bottles in your front yard…

3 thoughts on “The Consistency Project — Keeping Crazy in the Bag

  1. Pamela Liegl says:

    Ray,

    After that last line, ‘Leave a comment and let me know or I’ll starting checking to empty, mental wine bottles in your front yard…’, I am wondering whether those wine bottles might be real ones!

    As for myself, I may start diligently preparing to my Amana wine bottles to be returned.

    PL

  2. […] The Consistency Project–Keeping Crazy in the Bag […]

  3. tomseymore says:

    Anyone who closes with a Henry Rollins quote is quite alright in my book. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,393 other followers

