Of Maps, and Books, and Wednesdays.

2

November 12, 2014 by Ray Yanek

Somewhere a (nother) week passed without my posting anything.  Last week was a little rough though, but it’s time to move on and get back to work…

Soooo, to ease myself back into the blog, I thought I would share this map called “The Most Famous Book Set in every State.”

Jason English–yeah, I’m wondering about that last name too 🙂 –posted this on the Mental Floss website (love the Mental Floss), which you can get to by clicking here.

The map, however, was created by Melia Robinson and Melissa Stanger, from Business Insider.  The map itself was designed by Mike Nudelman.

The original posting on Business Insider can be found here.  It’s much bigger and easier to appreciate.

But now that all that citation stuff is done:

business-insider-most-famous-book-set-in-each-state

I love stuff like this.

I live in Illinois so I knew before even looking The Jungle would represent my state.  The Shining was also my guess for Colorado, but It would have been my guess for Maine.  Gone with the Wind and Tom Sawyer were expected too, Anne Rice was a no-brainer (at least for me) in regards to Louisiana, but I was a little surprised that Dan Brown was the choice for DC, but he has sold millions of books which does tend to make one popular, I suppose.

So what do you think?  Any surprises, either pleasant or not?

2 thoughts on “Of Maps, and Books, and Wednesdays.

  1. Pamela Liegl says:

    Ray,

    Being from Iowa, I was hoping for “Dewey” the story of an abandoned kitten at the Spencer Public Library. Not a great novel but very heart warming.
    Sorry, I could not figure out how to insert a picture of Dewey.

    pal

  2. Seems about right (though I agree with you about It.) I knew before I looked that MN would be Main Street.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,410 other followers

