Textual Treats for Your Virtual Halloween Bag

2

October 27, 2014 by Ray Yanek

Source:  www.openclipart.org  By: nicubun

Source: http://www.openclipart.org
By: nicubun

So with Halloween only a few days away, I would like to stay in the Halloween mood–even though here in the Midwest it is sunny and almost 80-freakin’-degrees.

Almost 80, at the end of October.  Whatever…

Anyway, I’m a sucker for a good quote so I thought I would throw some textual candy into your virtual trick or treat bag.

In keeping with the season, I’ve only chosen horror writers and for no particular reason then their names came to mind.  Some of the quotes are from their works, others are from talks and/or interviews, and the topics are wide ranging.  Some are about things creepy, some about writing, some just because I like the way they sound.

if you’d like more quotes from the author, click their names…

And, if you have any other interesting quotes by horror writers, I would love to hear them. Leave me a comment!  Or let me know what you think of the quotes below.

Enjoy and don’t come back to soap my windows!

Shirley Jackson (quite a few from Shirley, simply because I’m reading, finally, The Haunting of Hill House:

from: The Haunting of Hill House:

“Within, walls continued upright, bricks met neatly, floors were firm, and doors were220px-ShirleyJack sensibly shut; silence lay steadily against the wood and stone of Hill House, and whatever walked there, walked alone.”

“No, the menace of the supernatural is that it attacks where modern minds are weakest, where we have abandoned our protective armor of superstition and have no substitute defense.”

“Materializations are often best produced in rooms where there are books. I cannot think of any time when materialization was in any way hampered by the presence of books.”

 

from:  We Have Always Lived in the Castle

“I remember that I stood on the library steps holding my books and looking for a minute at the soft hinted green in the branches against the sky and wishing, as I always did, that I could walk home across the sky instead of through the village.”

 

deanDean Koontz:

 

“Sometimes there are no darker places than our thoughts,  the moonless midnight of the mind.”

 

 

Anne Rice:

“You do have a story inside you; it lies articulate and waiting to be written — behind anneagainyour silence and your suffering.”

from: The Witching Hour (along with the Vampire Chronicles, the book that made me visit New Orleans for the first time.)

“Give me a man or woman who has read a thousand books and you give me an interesting companion. Give me a man or woman who has read perhaps three and you give me a very dangerous enemy indeed.”

 

H._P._Lovecraft,_June_1934HP Lovecraft:

“Searchers after horror haunt strange, far places.”

“Ocean is more ancient than the mountains; and freighted with the memories and the dreams of Time.”

 

 

Richard Matheson:

“I think we’re yearning for something beyond the everyday.  And I will tell you that I richarddon’t believe in the supernatural.  I believe in the supernormal.  To me there is nothing that goes against nature.  It it seems incomprehensible, it’s because we haven’t been able to understand it yet.”

From:  Collected Stories, Vol 1

“I’m sitting in my office trying to squeeze a story from my head. It is that kind of morning when you feel like melting the typewriter into a bar of steel and clubbing yourself to death with it.”

 

 

200px-Fredricbrown

 

Fredric Brown:

“The shortest horror story:

The last man on Earth sat alone in a room. There was a knock on the door.”

 

2 thoughts on “Textual Treats for Your Virtual Halloween Bag

  1. […] Textual Treats for Your Virtual Halloween Bags […]

  2. […] Textual Treats for Your Virtual Halloween Bag […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,392 other followers

