S is for . . .

8

April 22, 2014 by Ray Yanek

s

Street Art in 3D

A few days ago I wrote a piece for the letter P about the use of perspective in art.  You can read that here if you’d like, and I struggled with wrapping my head around the concept of vanishing points, angles, etc.

Now there are the examples below and I don’t even now where to begin with explaining how this works. From what I’ve gathered the street art below uses anamorphic projection that, when views from a distinct area, a 2d plain look 3d.

Honestly, that’s the best I can do, but these examples will speak for themselves.

But these examples I’m posting below are mind blowing and absolutely amazing.  If you want to see more street art like this, click on the photos and you’ll go to the artist’s website where you can view their extensive portfolios.

Enjoy!  And remember–these are drawings, not sculptures, drawn on flat streets!

Lego Terracotta Army by Leon Keer, Rahem Pncia, Remko Van Schaik, and Peter Westernink.

Lego Terracotta Army by Leon Keer, Rahem Pncia, Remko Van Schaik, and Peter Westernink.

 

The Lion’s Gate by Tracey Lee Stum

lions gate Terry Lee Strum

Where Do I Go? By Edgar Mueller

Where do I go_006  Mueller

 

Waterfall by Manfred Stader

dvur-kralove-waterfall-art manfred

 

 

8 thoughts on “S is for . . .

  1. P Liegl says:

    “Way Cool!!!!!!” Reminded of a jigsaw puzzle that was “skewed” until you set a mirrored cylinder in the center and the puzzle was reflected “correctly” on the cylinders surface.

    PL

  2. I.L. Wolf says:

    I’ve seen the explanation several times, but unless I see the photos taken from the angles where it looks flat, I just don’t believe it. They look way too real. I mean, I know that they are chalk drawings, but my mind cannot accept it. It’s amazing.

    • Ray Yanek says:

      I had to laugh when I read this, because I totally feel the same way. I would like to see the art from other angles and I wonder if the other angles would have some sort of distortion?

  3. helenrj says:

    The terracotta army made me chuckle…and the others? Awesome! I’d love take a picture of myself balancing on that fake tight rope.

  4. Kathe W. says:

    chalk art on a street is phenomenal- awesome! I’d like to just sit and watch one be created!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,410 other followers

