Some Heat, Some Steam, and Some Poems

Leave a comment

August 27, 2013 by Ray Yanek

3002-39

It’s going to be hot today.  Temperatures will climb into the upper nineties and the heat index could reach 104.  Already this morning, the air is muggy and soupy.

Elementary schools around the area that don’t have air conditioning are already planning early dismissals.  A few schools already said “the hell with it” and cancelled the entire day.

I’m not a big fan of heat like this.

When I noticed the first bead of sweat forming on forehead, I thought about Robert Frost’s poem “Fire and Ice”, specifically the line where he believes, based on what he’s tasted of desire, the world will end in fire.  I thought I would post the poem up here, but the poems ends with a line about ice and cold and I didn’t feel like it left the read with the effect I wanted.

So I ran a Google search looking for poems that would fit (and properly bitch and complain) about the steaminess of the day.

To my surprise, I couldn’t find any that conveyed my disdain.  I did though, find one poem by Ovid (which you can find here) that focused on the steaminess of summer but, uh, well… it wasn’t quite the “steaminess” I was thinking of…

A lot of poems talking about the end of summer popped up though, and I thought that would work.  I looked for a poem that would basically tell summer not to let the door hit it in the ass on the way out, but again to my surprise, I didn’t find any like that either.

However I did find this poem: “Three Songs At the End of Summer” by Jane Kenyon.  I read it earlier this morning and didn’t think I would want to use it.

But the poem stayed with me.  I found myself going back to it over and over again.

It’s still staying with me.

The poem is hauntingly beautiful, the imagery powerful and precise, the emotion subtle yet stirring.

You should read it.

Really.  You should.

I so want to re-type the poem here just so that I can feel the words, get closer to images, become a part of it, touch the spirit of it, but I think I may run into copy write issues so I’m simply going to post the link to the page where I found it.

“Three Songs at the End of Summer” by Jane Kenyon.

Again, you really should read it.

Go on.  Hurry now…

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,410 other followers

