The Whistlestop Sampler Part II: Fiction

Leave a comment

February 15, 2013 by Ray Yanek

The goals for the Writing the Rails this week were mainly to get it back up and running, to put some things out there, and to get myself back into the groove.  I hoped I would pick up some new followers and garner some views and I’m very pleased with how that turned out.

Very pleased.

The post I put up on Monday called “When They Turn the Tables on You” broke my record for sight views by two.

So I want to start off today by saying thank you to all who have stopped by and who have taken the time to read what I’ve put here.  I’d like to offer a very special thank you to those of you who have liked the pages or left a comment.  Also, for all of the followers, both new and old, I can’t show enough gratitude to all of you.

One more time: thank you, and I sincerely hope you stick around when new stuff starts to come up next week.

But until next week, I’m going to put up another sampler.  Today’s post is a rehash of some flash fiction pieces I wrote for a thing “Flash Fiction Friday”.  The moderator of the group would give a prompt and then you had around a 1000 words to write a story.  Because of time, I haven’t keep up with the group but the group is still writing and producing some really good stuff.  You can find the group here.

These were written for fun and most of them were written quickly so that I get them to the group before a specific deadline.  Please ignore any mistakes and maybe you’ll something to entertain.

Oh, most of these stories do contain some occasional rough language…

Some silliness with this one.  It’s my take on ghost hunting and things paranormal.

This was my attempt at a court room drama.

More comedy and violence.  When you’re on vacation, don’t ever eat the flaming banana!

Gerald Greenway wasn’t into pants.  Didn’t like shorts either.  To Gerald, a man who wore shorts was akin to a man who wore those shirts that looked like a tuxedo, a man who was trying to cover both sides without committing to either.

Tom Mosbach had heard all those rumors and thought they were bullshit.

He found they weren’t.

Something a little more serious.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,410 other followers

