On Turning 39…

1

June 7, 2012 by Ray Yanek

So I woke up 39 years old this morning.

Some people have a problem with hitting that last year before the big 4-0, but it doesn’t bother me a bit.  Turning 39 makes me happy—I’m still here, and I have a beautiful wife and two wonderful children who know exactly how to make the day special.

I woke up to these awesome gifts this morning:

What made me even happier than the gifts though, was just the simple fact that three wonderful people care enough about me to know the kind of things that make me smile.  And yeah, I know.  I’m a little behind on my gaming…

After opening my gifts, I had some coffee with my wife and then went outside.  It was a beautiful morning: sun-shining, temps in the mid-sixties with just enough breeze.  I cleaned up the remains of a dead rabbit the cat tossed into the birthday kitty, then went for a 4 mile run.  When I came home, I took my daughter to softball practice then made an omelet for myself and a peanut butter and marshmallow cream sandwich for my son. When my wife got home from her errands, I took the dog for a ride in the  mini-van and listened to Pearl Jam on the satellite radio.

Right now as I type, my wife is making me a cherry cobbler using tart cherries we picked off the tree in the backyard.  In a little while, I’ll start a fire and grill some steak and peppers for fajitas.  Later, we’ll go to the softball diamond.  I’ll watch my daughter pitch, and I’ll keep the books for the team.  Last year, on my birthday, she hit an in-the-park homerun.

When I come home tonight, I’ll finish reading my James Rollins’ novel and just spend some quiet time with my wife.

Tomorrow, I’ll wake up early and write a little bit before my wife goes to work.

We have plans to go to Chicago this weekend, too.  Saturday we’ll roam through the Printer’s Row Book Festival.  On Sunday we’ll wander through the Field Museum.

I feel like I should say more in my last year before 40.  Talk maybe about getting older, or about how my birthdays have changed since I was in my 20’s.  But I don’t want to—because at 39 I’m learning a lot about contentment.

And maybe that says enough.

One thought on “On Turning 39…

  1. P Liegl says:

    39!! That is a great age. My mother claims to be 39, over and over and…just like Jack Benny.
    Yep, I have been older than my mother for … quite a few years.

    39 was also the age at which I got married, it will be 22 years tomorrow, and no I am not trying to test your mathematics skills.

    Have a great weekend.

    Pam

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,393 other followers

