Going to Bouchercon. Coming Home with a Blog…

3

September 8, 2011 by Ray Yanek

Okay.  I can do this…

(histrionic drawing of breath; an emotive clutching of the chest)

Hello.

(cough)

Sorry.  I mean:

Hello.  My name is Ray… and I am a fiction writer.

I am.

There.  I said it.

I’m a writer and  always have been.  I’m a story-teller, a day-dreamer, the guy who takes four hours to write a five-line e-mail just to make sure each and every word carries the proper connotation.  When I don’t write, my wife makes me sleep with that bat-shit crazy raccoon out by the garbage cans, because I get irritable and impossible to live with.  I’ve posted stories on the net and published short stories.  I have a mystery/thriller novel under contract with a New York literary agency.

But still, I’ve always had a problem telling people I’m a writer. 

I don’t know why.  Maybe I have some deep-seated fear that the firmament will crack open and God will reach down to punch me in the pancreas for perpetrating the greatest fraud in history.  Or maybe that Stephen King will come over and kick me in the taters for defaming the industry that was so good to him.  I don’t know.

I do know that I need to lose that fear.  Time is passing. 

So once again, I’m a fiction writer.

Damn it.

And that was only thunder.  Quit pissing with me.

In order to accept who I am, and to be the person I truly want to be, I’m going to need help.  I need to find a support group, and I’m taking that first step.

I’m going to Bouchercon 2011 in St. Louis.

Damn it.

For those unfamiliar with Bouchercon, it’s the world convention for crime, thriller, and mystery writers and readers.  It’s filled with authors, agents, booksellers, all that stuff.  The plan is simple: I’m going to wear some sweet little booty-shorts with “writer” printed across the ass and let everyone know… uh, wait a minute.

The real plan (seriously) is to listen and learn, to take in the sights, the sounds, the ideas and to bring back to this blog as much as I can in order to share all that goodness with anyone who stops by.  And maybe, if I’m lucky, some of you will stick around as I find new topics and content related to mysteries and crime novels to explore.

 I’d like that. 

 A lot.

On Monday and Wednesday of next week,  I’ll post some previews and thoughts about the various panels I’ll attend at the convention.  Like I said, it’s four days filled with draw-dropping talent and intriguing topics.  The decisions will be tough and I may need your help deciding.  The following week, I’ll post an actual run-down of all the panels and anything else that I think you may find interesting.  I’ll keep posting on Monday and Wednesday of each week.

So, in all seriousness, thank you for stopping by to read this, and I really hope to see you again.  While you’re here, why not jump over and read some of the stories I have posted?   Leave a comment if you want, and please, please,  if you know of anyone who may be interested in a place like this spread the word.

Take care and may God not reach down and punch you in the pancreas.

3 thoughts on “Going to Bouchercon. Coming Home with a Blog…

  1. Linda Burke says:

    Good luck with your book and congratulations on your blog. I see you’ve already found #MyWANA. We’re friendly so be sure to tweet when you have a new blog article. And have fun at Bouchercon.

  2. Love hearing that others dream big. 🙂 You’ve got to read “Are You There, Blog? It’s Me, Writer,” by Kristen Lamb.

    Best of luck. See you at Bouchercon!

  3. wow not bad! as you know I have absolutely no merit to have an opinion on literature or the written word, as I had to take your Lit class twice and have since gotten no better. I see you still have that Yanek sense of Humor.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,392 other followers

